Ginevra Panzetti

& Enrico Ticconi

INSEL (ÎLE)

Panzetti / Ticconi, INSEL © Sergio Salomone

Residency

March 2023

Le Pacifique - CDCN Grenoble

As part of Accueil-studio project

Often in our research a physical and tangible place has been explored to reflect on its symbolic content, such as the garden, the city square, urban or natural landscapes. In this case a place with specific geomorphic characteristics will be the starting point for the creation of dynamic and visual materials: the island. A portion of dry land completely surrounded by water and thus separated from other land masses, a circumscribed space that defines the walkable, the place on which it is possible to shape the idea and the practice of living.

In Italian, and derived from it also in English and German, the linguistic-historical connection between the words Isola/Island/Insel and isolation underlines the symbolic connection between an imposed or inner isolation and a detachment from the world – spiritual and physical states which seem familiar in our times and which interest us to a special degree for this new work.

Based on the research of geographer and historian Jared Diamond, who analyses the condition of non-isolation as one of the most important conditions for a community to thrive and develop, we will address the particular social situation of communities based on islands and how this geographical condition has generated and preserved specific cultural traditions. In a symbolic sense the island will also be addressed as an existential condition.

Looking at literature examples like the iconic novel Robinson Crusoe by Defoe or the classical theater play The Tempest by Shakespeare, the four performers will inhabit the fictitious space of a deserted island recalling the character of the castaway or the exile, embodying a “detachment from the world”, a fruitful as well as terrifying collapse into profound depths of oneself.

— Panzetti / Ticconi

Read More

Studio’s opening: date to come
Free on reservation: adriana.falcone@ccnr.fr

Première: July 2023 at Julidans, Amsterdam (NL)

Casting

Choreography and visual conception: Panzetti / Ticconi
Sound design: Demetrio Castellucci
Light design: Annegret Schalke
Costumes and set design: Werkstattkollektiv
Performers (4): to be defined
Singers (3): to be defined

Production: Associazione Culturale VAN ; Panzetti / Ticconi

Coproduction: Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer (DE), JUMP network formed by: Oriente Occidente, Festival MILANoLTRE, I Teatri di Reggio Emilia, Lavanderia a Vapore/Piemonte dal Vivo, Marche Teatro/ Inteatro Festival, Orbita, Scenario Pubblico/Compagnia Zappalà Danza, Teatro Comunale di Vicenza, Teatro, Stabile dell’Umbria. (IT), Torino Danza (IT), Julidans Amsterdam (NL), Le Pacifique – CDCN Grenoble Auvergne Rhône-Alpes (FR), Les Petites Scènes Ouvertes avec le soutien de la Caisse des dépôts (FR), Pact Zollverein (DE), Centre Chorégraphique National de Nantes, (FR), CCNR/Yuval Pick (FR), Passages, Transfestival – Metz (FR)…

Residency: Chorège – CDCN Falaise Normandie

Photo © Sergio Salomone

Ginevra Panzetti

& Enrico Ticconi

INSEL (ÎLE)

Panzetti / Ticconi, INSEL © Sergio Salomone

Résidence

Mars 2023

Le Pacifique - CDCN Grenoble

Dans le cadre du dispositif Accueil-studio

Les recherches de Panzetti / Ticconi sont guidées par l’exploration de lieux physiques, tangibles au fort pouvoir symbolique, tels qu’un jardin, une place, des paysage naturels ou urbains. Le point de départ de leur nouvelle création, INSEL est un lieu aux caractéristiques géo-morphologiques singulières : l’île. Une portion de terre sèche, entourée d’eau, complètement séparée des autres masses terrestres. Un espace circonscrit, qui détermine le praticable, le lieu sur lequel il est possible de former l’idée même de la vie.

En italien, en anglais et en allemand, la proximité linguistique et historique entre les mots Isola/Island/Insel et isolement souligne le lien symbolique entre un isolement contraint ou intérieur et un détachement du monde. Sur la base des recherches du géographe Jared Diamond, qui analyse le non-isolement comme l’une des conditions pour qu’une communauté prospère, le duo Panzetti/Ticconi aborde la situation sociale singulière des communautés insulaires. Comment cette situation géographique génère et préserve des traditions culturelles spécifiques ?

Symboliquement, l’île est donc abordée comme une condition existentielle. À partir d’exemples littéraires comme Robinson Crusoé de Defoe ou La Tempête de Shakespeare, les quatre interprètes habitent l’espace d’une île déserte fictive, donnant vie à l’archétype du naufragé ou de l’exilé et incarnant un « détachement du monde ».

lire la suite

Démo : date à venir
Gratuit sur réservation : adriana.falcone@ccnr.fr

Première : Juillet 2023 à Julidans, Amsterdam (NL)

Distribution

Chorégraphie, conception visuelle : Panzetti / Ticconi
Création sonore : Demetrio Castellucci
Lumières : Annegret Schalke
Scénographie et costumes : Werkstattkollektiv
Interprètes (4) : en cours
Chanteurs (3) : en cours

Production : Associazione Culturale VAN ; Panzetti / Ticconi

Coproduction : Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer (DE), JUMP network formed by: Oriente Occidente, Festival MILANoLTRE, I Teatri di Reggio Emilia, Lavanderia a Vapore/Piemonte dal Vivo, Marche Teatro/ Inteatro Festival, Orbita, Scenario Pubblico/Compagnia Zappalà Danza, Teatro Comunale di Vicenza, Teatro, Stabile dell’Umbria. (IT), Torino Danza (IT), Julidans Amsterdam (NL), Le Pacifique – CDCN Grenoble Auvergne Rhône-Alpes (FR), Les Petites Scènes Ouvertes avec le soutien de la Caisse des dépôts (FR), Pact Zollverein (DE), Centre Chorégraphique National de Nantes, (FR), CCNR/Yuval Pick (FR), Passages, Transfestival – Metz (FR)…

Résidences : Chorège – CDCN Falaise Normandie

Panzetti / Ticconi appartient au réseau « Crossing the sea » et est artiste associé à Lavanderia a Vapore / Piemonte dal Vivo 2021/2023 et à Oriente Occidente 2022/2023
Panzetti / Ticconi bénéficie du soutien de DIEHL+RITTER/TANZPAKT RECONNECT

Photo © Sergio Salomone