10:00 - 17:00


This workshop physically explores what memory is, the ways that we remember, and what it is that we remember.
Structured improvisational tasks, memory games, and the use of individual memories to devise solutions to movement problems will be some of the methods utilized as an impetus to generate new movement based on memory.
A technical class encourages students to learn how to maximize the use of the warmed-up body to increase their movement possibilities and take risks in their dancing. The initial warm-up uses elements from yoga, ballet and release techniques to focus on discovering and strengthening connections within the body’s structure and to find a sense of fluidity in the joints.
During the work on phrases, the dancers will learn how to incorporate all the information from the warm–up to aid them in the execution of more complicated sequences, as well as continuing to control the use of breath. This maintains a strong center, allowing explosive actions to be generated.

— Ori Flomin
Ori is from Israel and has been dancing in New York City since 1989. His choreography has been seen in NYC at Dance Theater Workshop, PS 122’s New Stuff, Movement Research at Judson Church, DanceMopolitan at Joe’s Pub, Dance New Amsterdam, and internationally in Austria, Japan and Israel.
From 2005-09 he was the assistant to the artistic director of Stephen Petronio Dance Company for which he also danced from 1991-1999. 
He also danced in the works of Neil Greenberg, Melissa Fenley, Kevin Wynn, Michael Clark, Maria Hassabi and Chamecki/Lerner, among others.
He teaches dance and yoga for several companies and schools in Europe such as ImpulsTanz, P.A.R.T.S., SEAD, The Place, Culberg Ballet, DansensHus, Sasha Waltz Company and Dance Ireland. He also teaches regularly at Dance New Amsterdam and Movement Research in NYC.

Sign up

10h - 17h


Ce stage propose d’explorer physiquement ce qu’est la mémoire ; comment on se souvient des choses, et ce dont on se souvient.
Nous travaillerons avec des consignes claires et structurées d’improvisation, des jeux de mémoire ainsi qu’à partir de souvenirs individuels qui nous serviront à trouver des solutions à des problèmes de mouvements qui en généreront de nouveaux.
Un cours technique encouragera les stagiaires à maximiser l’outil du corps bien échauffé pour augmenter les possibilités de mouvement et la prise de risque dans leur exécution. L’échauffement sera composé d’éléments techniques de yoga, danse classique et release pour mieux se concentrer sur les connexions à l’intérieur du corps et ainsi trouver une meilleure fluidité des articulations.
En travaillant sur des phrases chorégraphiques, les danseurs apprendront à intégrer pleinement ce qu’ils ont acquis pendant l’échauffement pour les aider à exécuter des séquences plus complexes tout en gardant le contrôle de la respiration ; cet exercice participe à maintenir un centre solide permettant de générer des actions plus puissantes.

— Ori Flomin
Il est originaire d’Israël et danse à New York depuis 1989. Ses chorégraphies ont été présentées à NYC au Dance Theater Workshop, au New Stuff de PS 122, à Movement Research à la Judson Church, à DanceMopolitan à Joe’s Pub, à Dance New Amsterdam…
De 91 à 99 il danse pour la Stephen Petronio Dance Company puis assiste le directeur artistique de 2005 à 2009. Il a aussi dansé pour Neil Greenberg, Melissa Fenley, Kevin Wynn, Michael Clark, Maria Hassabi, Chamecki / Lerner…
Il enseigne la danse et le yoga pour de nombreuses compagnies et écoles en Europe, notamment pour ImpulsTanz, P.A.R.T.S., SEAD, The Place, le Culberg Ballet, DansensHus, Sasha Waltz Company et Dance Ireland. Il enseigne aussi régulièrement à Dance New Amsterdam et à Movement Research à NYC.

S'inscrire